Skip to main content Skip to footer


The City of Lemon Grove is a General Law City governed by a five (5) member City Council. A Mayor and four members of the City Council are elected to serve 4-year terms.  The Mayor and City Council serve Citywide and are not restricted to Districts due to the size of our City.  The City consolidates Elections with the County of San Diego and are generally held with the Statewide General Elections held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November of even-numbered years.  As of 2020, the State of California changed the date of the Primary Elections from June to March, thereby, if the City has a need to be included on the ballot such as a Special Election, the City will consolidate with the Statewide Primary Municipal Election.

2024 Key Election Dates

  • November 5, 2024, General Election

The City of Lemon Grove's next General Municipal Election will be held on Tuesday, November 5, 2024 for the purpose of electing:

Position Term

Mayor of the City of Lemon Grove (1 Seat)

4-Year Term
City Council Member (2 Seats) 4-Year Term

Political Sign Regulations

December of 2019, the City Council adopted changes to the Election section of the Lemon Grove Municipal Code, Section Chapter 9.08:  ELECTION CAMPAIGN REGULATIONS

 Campaign Contribution Regulations

Every effort is made to provide accurate, up-to-date information; however, the City is not responsible for guidance, interpretation, or explanation of election-related regulations. This information is not legal advice and is not to be a substitute for legal counsel. Individuals are urged to review appropriate laws and regulations for detailed information and seek legal counsel, if necessary.

This website uses cookies to enhance usability and provide you with a more personal experience. By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.