Skip to main content Skip to footer

About Us

Just a few miles east of San Diego lies the community of Lemon Grove, a diverse mix of more than 27,000 residents who enjoy all the charm of small-town living with the conveniences of big-city proximity.  The City of Lemon Grove was incorporated in 1977 and officially became California’s 414th municipality on July 1, 1977. Lemon Grove leadership is working harder than ever to secure a stable future for the City.  A city with unique historic roots, Lemon Grove still exhibits community pride and spirit in our modern era, boasting the "Best Climate on Earth." Centrally located in the southwest portion of San Diego County, Lemon Grove is only nine miles from downtown San Diego and 12 miles from the airport.

The City of Lemon Grove is committed to providing residents with top-quality services.  Among these services is the maintenance and care of 8 smoke and alcohol-free public parks for the enjoyment of residents and visitors.  Parks provide diverse opportunities for physical activity and relaxation as well as a space for social gatherings and informal social interaction.  Lemon Grove is home to several signature events. The annual summer Concerts and Movies in the Park are beloved by the community in addition to the Community Bonfire, now in its 22nd year of celebration. 

The City's youngest residents are served through the popular Day Camp program which offers several sessions for the youth throughout the year. Camp is supervised by well-trained, caring, and enthusiastic recreation leaders who always put the safety of campers first. Adult softball is played year-round in Lemon Grove and is designed for adults of all ages and skill levels. 

The City provides ample opportunities for community involvement.  From quarterly community clean-up events to engaging with the City on its four social media platforms, Lemon Grove offers plenty of hands-on and virtual opportunities for residents to get involved. 

Welcome home!  We're glad you're here. 

The City is governed by a five-member City Council elected at large with four-year alternating terms. The Mayor is elected directly by the voters. Additionally, City Clerk, City Manager, and City Attorney positions are filled by City Council appointments. The City contracts law enforcement services with the San Diego County Sheriff's Office. Fire services are provided by a Joint Powers Authority with Heartland Fire and Rescue which also serves the cities of La Mesa and El Cajon. 

This website uses cookies to enhance usability and provide you with a more personal experience. By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.