City of Lemon Grove

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


What You Need to Know...

The City of Lemon Grove is a General Law City governed by a 5-member City Council. A Mayor and four members of the City Council are elected to serve 4-year terms.  The Mayor and City Council serve Citywide and are not restricted to districts due to the size of our City.  The City consolidates Elections with the County of San Diego and are generally held with the Statewide General Elections held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November of even-numbered years.  As of 2020, the State of California changed the date of the Primary Elections from June to March, thereby, if the City has need to be included on the ballot such as a Special Election, the City will consolidate with the Statewide Primary Municipal Election.

Presidential Statewide General Municipal Election November 3, 2020

City of Lemon Grove next General Municipal Election will be held on Tuesday, November 3, 2020 for the purpose of electing:

Position Term
Mayor 4-Year Term
Member of the City Council (2 seats) 4-Year Term

Political Sign Regulations

December of 2019, the City Council adopted changes to the Election section of the Lemon Grove Municipal Code, Section Chapter 9.08:  ELECTION CAMPAIGN REGULATIONS

 Campaign Contribution Regulations

Every effort is made to provide accurate, up-to-date information; however, the City is not responsible for guidance, interpretation, or explanation of election-related regulations. This information is not legal advice and is not to be a substitute for legal counsel. Individuals are urged to review appropriate laws and regulations for detailed information and seek legal counsel, if necessary.

What is a City Measure?


A "measure" is any amendment or other proposition or initiative (ordinance) submitted to the voters that would ultimately become "law" within the City of Lemon Grove and alter the Lemon Grove Municipal Code.

How does a measure get on the ballot? Why are the proponents asking me to sign the petition?


To qualify for placement on the ballot of a future regular or special election, proponents of a measure must follow the process outlined in the California Elections Code and meet any other requirements of the City Municipal Code, and other applicable regulations.

Much of the process is provided in California Elections Code Chapter 5 (sections 9200-9295).

For a citizen-initiated measure to qualify for the ballot, proponents must obtain at a minimum 10% of the signatures of the registered voters in the City for an initiative.

The number of signatures required is determined for each measure, as required by the Elections Code. As of February 18, 2020, there were 15,539 Registered Lemon Grove Voters.  Please check with the City Clerk for exact number of signatures needed at the time of petition circulation.

I don't want to read the whole initiative to understand what I am signing.  Is there a simple way to determine what the initiative is about?




Proponents of a measure are required to print the full text of the measure, as well as the City Attorney’s impartial ballot Title and Summary, on the petition above the signature lines. The City Attorney's Impartial Ballot Title and Summary can give you an overview, but should not be what you make the decision to sign on.  You have the right, and are encouraged, to read it completely and ask questions before you decide whether or not to sign the petition. It is a misdemeanor to intentionally misrepresent or refuse to allow a potential signer to read a petition or proposed measure.

The complete initiative is available on the City Website, the City Clerk will set up a page specific to the measure.  This is an Impartial location to view the initiative in full, legal notices, FPPC Filing requirements and any news on the process.  Please check with the City Clerk if you need assistance locating this page.

In addition, you have the right to ask the person gathering signatures the following questions:

  • Are you a volunteer or paid signature gatherer?
  • Are you being paid per signature or an hourly rate? How much?
  • If compensation is non-monetary, what kind of compensation are you receiving?

Can I remove my name from a petition I signed?


Any voter who has signed a petition, and who subsequently wishes his or her name withdrawn, may do so by filing a written request with the City Clerk that includes the voter’s name, residence address, and signature with the City Clerk prior to the day the petition is filed.

What other information can I obtain regarding a proposed measure?


If you have questions related to measures or elections, please contact the City Clerk’s office at or call (619) 825-3800

Additional Information